Chicken Breast. Smashed Potatoes. & Sauteed Veggies.

This was quite the experience for me. My first time cooking dinner from scratch for myself and my roommate. I went to the local Hy Vee store and got the ingredients I thought I would need, took a deep breath, and began to cook!

I was nervous at first, but the feedback was great, and I was absolutely full from all the food I ate!

Here is my original recipe for some Lemon Pepper Chicken Breast, Smashed Potatoes, and Sauteed Vegetables.

Things needed:

  1. Chicken Breast (with no added hormones and steroids)
  2. Small Gold Potatoes
  3. Celery
  4. Yellow Onion
  5. Baby Carrots
  6. Lemon
  7. Butter
  8. Salt
  9. Pepper
  10. Garlic Powder
  11. Rosemary
  12. Olive Oil
  13. Lemon Pepper Seasoning
  14. Garlic Powder

Chicken 

Begin by preheating the oven to 350 degrees, and washing the chicken with cool water. Place chicken in a pan and rub with olive oil. Sprinkle some lemon pepper, salt, pepper, and rosemary on top. Then squeeze 1/2 of a lemon’s juice on the chicken.

DSC01421

Cover the chicken with aluminum foil and place in the oven for 30 minutes.

After cooking, leave chicken setting in pan for 5 minutes before cutting into to be sure the juices from the chicken can settle.

DSC01435

Smashed Potatoes

DSC01416

Begin by washing the potatoes with some water and a scrubbing brush. Place them in a saucepan of water and boil until potatoes are soft.

DSC01427

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.

While they are boiling, spray a cookie sheet pan with spray oil.

Once potatoes are soft, drain them, and place them on the cookie sheet. Smash the potatoes down with a cup. Rub some olive oil on the tops of the smashed potatoes. Then, sprinkle them with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and rosemary.

DSC01430DSC01431

Place the cookie sheet into the oven and cook for 15-20 minutes (depending on how crispy you want your potatoes).

DSC01436

Vegetables

I really love carrots, and onions always have great flavor. I am not too keen on celery, but I wanted to branch out and try things so those are the three types of vegetables I chose.

DSC01422

All you do is put some olive oil in a frying pan, place your cut and cleaned veggies into the pan. Cook on medium heat until they have become tender.

DSC01428

I sprinkled them with some salt and pepper. I also added a teaspoon full of butter to add a little flavor.

Cook covered, and it’s as easy as that!

Final Thoughts…

photo

I was really impressed with how moist the chicken turned out to be! I usually have to eat my chicken with condiments like ketchup or ranch, but it was so great I didn’t need anything. The smashed potatoes are addicting. They are a great combination of soft and crunchy. Lastly, the vegetables really hit the spot and all in all the meal covered the food groups.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

